Gluten Free Things {Review}

Have you heard of Gluten Free Things before? I hadn’t until I was contacted by the owner asking if I would like to sample their products and write about my experience with them. I looked at their website to view their offerings and was excited to respond yes. In the last year or so I have had to cut dairy out of my diet as well, which has been a little more difficult than I had imagined. Mainly because I sometimes would forget that I could no longer have it. I was pleased to learn that their bread products are now VEGAN which means I can eat them. I do not however have an dietary issues with eggs, but sometimes it is easier to find a vegan version over a non-dairy version of certain items.

Additionally and most importantly, everything is prepared in an 100% gluten-free bakery! The selection of products include; breads, crackers, mixes, cookies and biscotti, muffins, dough’s, etc. I was sent the following items to sample and review: a hoagie roll, English muffins, croissants, chocolate chip cookie, a peanut butter cookie, and pita bread.

IMG_9987

Since being diagnosed in 2008 with celiac disease I’ve tried my fair share of bread products; several of which have impressed me and a good amount of them have not. The items we tried from Gluten Free Things were very impressive even more so because they were both gluten free and vegan. We made breakfast sandwiches using the English muffins and both of us enjoyed the texture and flavor of them. They toasted up nicely, with a good crunch, and a chewy texture in side. Everything we tried was fantastic; out of the two cookies the peanut butter was my favorite (only because I’m a sucker for peanut butter and prefer it over chocolate any day of the week). The croissants were so delicious I toasted these up and smeared on some delicious raspberry jam and had a nice cuppa tea with it. The hoagie roll was spot on, I used half of it to make a sandwich, and the other half I toasted up and served along side a big bowl of gluten-free pasta to soak up the sauce.

I think my favorite item however, was the pita breads! I hadn’t had a gluten-free (and/or vegan) version before and they reminded me so much of the real thing I forgot that they weren’t. I tried these untoasted and toasted and both were great. I put these to use as a post hike lunch by loading them up with some Boars Head chicken, mixed greens, and edamame hummus.

IMG_0087

Overall we were highly impressed with the products we received and would definitely order from them. If you are looking for a gluten-free, vegan, egg, nut, and soy free bread option, I recommend giving Gluten Free Things a try! Thank you John and the rest of the Gluten Free Things team for such great products!

*I was sent products for review, however all comments and opinions are 100% my own.
One thought on “Gluten Free Things {Review}

Leave a Comment

