Getting In Shape {Recap 1 – Exercise Schedule}

zumba-_cris_00411-d0d00123

Last month I posted about my recent journey of getting in shape and dropping the pounds I gained since my small intestine started to heal after being diagnosed in 2008. Did you know that depending on the amount of damage in your small intestine it could take anywhere from several months to up to three years to heal completely? Neither did I until I was reading articles for my research on project about celiac disease vs. wheat allergy. You learn a whole lot of thinks when reading research articles I tell ya.

For my anatomy and physiology class I had to write an article review so I decided to pick an article on fibromyalgia because I suffer from that as well. The article was all about a research done in Romania that lasted for 12 weeks and examined physical training and the effects it had on patients with fibromyalgia. During the 12 week study each patient had to perform the following physical activities: flexibility exercises, postural hygiene and balance exercises, pain aerobic exercises, and pilates. It wasn’t much of a surprise that when asked which of the four types of exercise they preferred, 74% of them said the flexibility exercises and two-thirds of the patients that completed the program said they continued the exercises at home after the 12-week period was over.

I have heard information like this in the past. One of the hardest things with fibromyalgia is that exercise helps, but having the pain can prevent someone who suffers from fibromyalgia to even begin to work out. From my personal experiences since going gluten-free my symptoms of fibromyalgia have reduced dramatically. I have much fewer days where I cannot get out of bed or function really.

So with this information in mind I was really trying to seek out a “work out program” that would suit my needs but also keep me interested at the same time. I get bored with this stuff rather easily and having the excuse of fibromyalgia on my side makes it all to easy for me to try something for a few days and give up. But this time around I am determined to shed these unwanted pounds.

I can’t afford a gym or to take classes anywhere so I needed to find something I could do at home. I was using some videos I found on my OnDemand, but I would start them and then they would be gone a day or two later. Talk about discouraging. When living in Monterey I went to a few Zumba classes both basic and aquatic and loved them. It’s a dance party that just happens to be a work out as well. If you didn’t know already I was a dancer growing up and I miss it dearly. So I tried to find some Zumba videos online but there wasn’t many that I found that I liked (mostly of the class and not of the instructor so I couldn’t tell what I was SUPPOSED to be doing).

I finally broke down and bought the Zumba Exhilarate box set. It comes with 5 DVD’s, an instruction booklet, and toning sticks. I’m pretty much in love with it. I do it at home, in my living room, without a bunch of people watching…just Penny, I go at my own pace, and I can fit it into my schedule.

After a few weeks of doing the Activate video I decided that I wanted to come up with a workout schedule so I (with the help of Bryan) put one together. Feel free to use this for yourself as well, when you get to the point of completing the Step-by-Step and Activate videos. The schedule below is a 2 month schedule so when the two months are up I will post my new measurements and anthropometric’s. Also on the schedule you will notice that it is five days of Zumba videos (Activate, Ripped, and Exhilarate) in addition to a day of yoga/stretching and one day of rest. For the yoga I follow the video that Bryan uses for his Tapout XT workout called Yoga XT. I’m not going to lie it will take me a while to get through the Exhilarate and Yoga XT videos completely, but I am determined. The yoga is a bit rough on my shoulders because back in 1998 I tore my left rotator cuff and had surgery on it, but no physical therapy so my upper body strength isn’t so great at the moment, but again I’m working on it and I’m rather determined.

I don’t own anything Zumba related…yet. When I can afford to purchase something this will probably be first on my list: 1-a0p00107-gdormostly because 30% of sales price from The Great Calorie Drive™ Zumba® merchandise sold are donated to World Food Programme and Feeding America. I love companies that donate and support charities that I support.

Who knows maybe someday I’ll do one of the Zumba training programs to become an instructor…

Workbook2

I am looking for a protein shake/meal replacer that is gluten-free and is affordable. I have heard many great things about Shakeology but I just can’t afford the $130 a month for it. So if anyone has suggestions PLEASE let me know! Thanks so much.

4 thoughts on “Getting In Shape {Recap 1 – Exercise Schedule}

Leave a Comment

