Earlier this week I learned my lesson with rice crispy treats. Even though the package says “Contains: Milk and Soy” it really goes contain gluten also. I knew a while back that rice crispy cereal has malt in it (and so doesn’t the rice crispy treats) but silly me just read the “contains” area and completely didn’t even look at the malt. Dumb on my part I know. I learned my lesson good…was sick for about 3-4 days. Not very pleasant.
I posted my frustration on my Creative Cooking : Gluten Free Facebook page and Krisit posted this:
“I don’t eat rice krispies or corn pops for that reason since they have malt and other “gluten” ingredients. But if you want a snack “like” rice krispy treats….I use cocoa or fruity peebles (only the boxes with the Flintstones on it !!) and mix them with marshmellows and butter. They are BETTER than regular rice krispy treats!!!! The cocoa peebles one is my favorite!”
In my frustration I went to Kellogg’s website and found this information:
At this time, we do not offer products suitable for consumers on a gluten- or wheat-free diet. All of our products are produced in facilities that also manufacture wheat-containing products. We cannot guarantee that any products are 100% gluten- or wheat-free.
Kellogg’s® Eggo™ Syrup and Kellogg’s™ Fruit Flavored Snacks are formulated gluten and wheat-free and may be acceptable for consumers on restricted diets. However, these products are produced in facilities that also manufacture other products that contain wheat. Consumers have varying sensitivities to gluten, and although we follow approved standardized manufacturing practices, some consumers are so sensitive that even wheat dust that may be in the product can result in a reaction. Therefore, we do not have any products that are gluten-free.
Kellogg’s® Corn Pops and Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies might be suitable, depending on gluten sensitivity. Corn Pops have a very small amount of wheat starch added, and Rice Krispies have a small amount of malt flavoring, made from barley. Check with your personal physician to determine if these products are suitable for you.”
I found this to be a bit contradicting: “At this time, we do not offer products suitable for consumers on a gluten- or wheat-free diet.” but further on it says: “Kellogg’s® Corn Pops and Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies might be suitable, depending on gluten sensitivity.” So either you have gluten free products or you don’t. Needless to say I was a bit frustrated with them over this.
After reading the responses to my post I thought why not give Kristis suggestion a try? I went and found the simple ingredients:
Fruity Pebble Crispy Treats
1 box of the Fruity Pebbles
1 package of mini marshmallows
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
1/4 cup of butter
~Melt butter over low heat,add marshmallows & stir till completely melted.
~Stir in vanilla, then cereal until well coated.
~Using lightly buttered spatula. press into buttered or tinfoil (buttered) lined 9×13″ pan. Allow mixture to cool. Cut into bars.
Thank you Kristi for a great suggestion and a gluten free alternative to Rice Crispy Treats. They were AWESOME!!!!