Wendy’s Spicy Chicken Sandwich-Gluten Free

(sorry the pic isn’t so great, I rushed because I really want to try this, its been over 2 years since I had one)

We don’t eat fast food much.  If we do, we either go to Subway so Bryan can get a sandwich and I get a salad or we go to Wendy’s because they fry their french fries in a separate fryer and I can get a bun-less cheeseburger and Bryan can get his favorite spicy chicken sandwich.  That sandwich used to be my favorite also before I found I had Celiac Disease.  Every time he gets one I ask “can I just smell it” – you laugh but I seriously do this quite often with some of his “regular” food.

Lately I’ve been on a kick of making things at home instead of going out and buying them.  For example in my last post I shared recipes from homemade beef jerky and granola bars.  I can’t go out and get a Wendy’s spicy chicken sandwich but I sure as heck can make it at home.  Making things at home also lets you control the ingredients you use.  Not saying that this sandwich is super healthy by any means, don’t get me wrong.  I mentioned to Bryan the other day that I could try to recreate that sandwich for him, but would have to do it gluten-free so I can enjoy it too…he said sure.  So I looked online for some ideas of what is actually in the sandwich and then went to work on creating a recipe for it.  I have to say it came out pretty darn awesome!  We both really liked it.  I served mine between two pieces of romaine lettuce and Bryan had his on a “regular” bun.  The spicy flavor in mine was much more pronounced without having all that bread in the way.

Gluten-Free Spicy Chicken Sandwich (Wendy’s)

1/4 Cup Frank’s Red Hot Sauce

1/2 Cup Water

1/2 Cup Gluten-Free Bisquick

1 1/2 Teaspoons Sea Salt

2 Teaspoons Cayenne Pepper

1/8 Teaspoon Fine Ground Pepper

1/4 Teaspoon Paprika

1/4 Teaspoon Garlic Powder

2 Chicken Breasts – pounded until about 3/8 inch thick

4 Pieces of Romain Lettuce

1/4 Teaspoon Mayonnaise (optional)

2 Tomato Slices (optional)

Mix together the Gluten-Free Bisquick, Salt, Cayenne Pepper, Pepper, Paprika and Garlic Powder in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl mix together Frank’s Red Hot Sauce and water.

In a large high-sided sauté pan heat 1/2 cup – 1 cup of canola oil (should come up about 1/2 inch the side of the pan depending on the size of your pan) on medium heat.  You could also use a deep fryer but I didn’t want to deal with all of that.

Take one chicken breast at a time and dredge it in the GF Bisquick mixture, then coat it in the hot sauce/water mixture and then again in the Bisquick mixture.

Cook chicken for about 4-5 minutes on each side until they are golden brown and no longer pink in the center (I cut mine just to make sure).

Remove from the oil and drain on paper towels to remove any excess oil.  Serve on lettuce or a bun and top with mayonnaise (optional), tomato (optional) and an additional piece of lettuce.  Enjoy!!

The Bisquick worked perfect for this recipe.  It was nice and crunchy and the chicken was juicy, and just the right amount of spice.  Oh how I have missed this sandwich, but now I can make it at home!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Wendy’s Spicy Chicken Sandwich-Gluten Free

  1. Pingback: Wendy's Spicy Chicken Sandwich-Gluten Free « Creative Cooking … | Gluten Free Cooking

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Wendy’s Spicy Chicken Sandwich-Gluten Free « Creative Cooking Gluten Free -- Topsy.com

  3. Your blog was the first recipe I looked at for a gluten-free “Wendy’s Spicy Chicken Sandwich” and my husband and I really enjoyed the recipe. And my husband isn’t technically a gluten-free eater either. Like you, we don’t eat out too much, but I was missing the chicken sandwich, so thank you! I think we’ll add this one to our repertoire of recipes.=)

    • Hi Kristin,

      I’m glad you both enjoyed it. My boyfriend Bryan loves it and requests it every so often. We try not to eat it too much but maybe once a month he’ll ask for it and it’s better than going to Wendy’s to get one. Whenever we did go there (again, not often) he would get that and I would ask “can I just smell it”. Those were my favorite sandwiches there. It is pretty awesome to think of all the great foods that you’ve enjoyed while eating out and now you can make them at home. I’m glad you stopped by and gave it a try!

  4. Pingback: Gluten Free Menu Plan - Week of March 19 | Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom

  5. Pingback: Mock Wendy's Chicken Nuggets - Gluten, Soy and Nut Free | Top 6 With a Side of Gluten

  6. Pingback: Vegetarian Burrito Bowls {Take-out At Home} | Creative Cooking Gluten Free

  7. So yummy!!!! My GF tenders never come as good as they did when I tried doing them this way. Thanks for coming up with this and sharing it! It will be our go-to from now on when we want to make tenders. I’m pregnant and this hit so many cravings for me in one dish.

Leave a Comment

