Tu-Lu’s Gluten Free Bakery (REVIEW)

Tu-Lu’s Gluten Free Bakery is located at 338 East 11th Street (between 1st and 2nd ave) in NYC.  Tu-Lu’s is a cute little shop with a few seats and cute decor to sit and enjoy your tasty treats. We ventured in to the city on Thursday to give it a try.  My main interest in going there was to try their very delicious sounding cupcakes.  While looking at their website a bit I noticed that they also some panini’s on the menu.  Most items on the menu had prices associated with them, however the panini’s didn’t, so we weren’t 100% sure if we were going to actually have lunch there or not.  Once arriving and seeing the selections and prices we decided to do so instead of having dessert first.  Once I read that they use Udi’s bread I got really excited because I haven’t tried any of their products yet and have been wanting to.

I ended up ordering the “Sliced Roasted Turkey with Provolone & Herb Mayo” panini and Bryan ordered the “Ham and Melted Muenster with Whole Grain Mustard” panini.  Both came with a side of lightly dressed mixed greens and were very delicious.  The bread is amazing-it held up extremely well.  This has been a big thing for me lately when trying new gluten-free bread products is “how well do they hold up in a sandwich” and some of them fail miserably!  But between the Canyon Bakehouse Breads and Udi’s I have been pleasantly surprised.  Both hold up extremely well especially in a panini.

Next up was what we came for…the cupcake!  I love them (and very picky about them). I ordered the Vanilla Cupcake with  Strawberry Cream Cheese icing and Bryan ordered the Chocolate Cupcake with Vanilla Cream Cheese Icing.  They were very tasty with a good texture.  Not as fluffy as I was expecting, more of a denser cupcake but over all great flavor.

However, and I hate to write this, but not long after leaving we both had very intense stomach pains.  I’m not sure exactly what it was from but here is my guess.  It has been extremely hot around here and when we arrived and ordered our cupcakes the frosting was melting off.  I was almost hesitant to try it, but when you put a cupcake in front of me, I can’t really resist.  Not because they cupcakes were just out of the oven and not cooled completely but because it was so warm in there and I don’t think their little display case was cool enough or at all.  Many of the cupcakes you could see the frosting sliding off and if they are a cream based frosting…that doesn’t go very well with the heat.  We were both sick for a few hours which was very upsetting because I had very high hopes for this place.  I have ruled it out just yet of this one time so I think when its a bit cooler out, I’ll have to give it another shot.  If anyone else has tried it I would love to hear your review also.

One thought on “Tu-Lu’s Gluten Free Bakery (REVIEW)

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Tu-Lu’s Gluten Free Bakery (REVIEW) « Creative Cooking : Gluten Free -- Topsy.com

Leave a Comment

